Womanifesto by Jill Scott: The Global Anthem of African/ Black Daughters

In a world that is obsess with quick pleasures daughters of Africa on the continent and in the diaspora are exposed to flashy and baseless lifestyles that are destructive to their holistic development.When I look around me in Africa and in the diaspora be it in Brazil, the United States of America, Cuba, India, Mexico or Jamaica many of our young people are being fed with toxic messages that block their metal and physical development hence contributing to the failure of our African/black communities.They are told that their bodies are valuable because they can be used to serve the purpose of others. And that working and building their self esteem, crafts and career slowly is not the best move. They are encouraged to seek instant, fast lifestyle that doesn’t last their lifetime, the end goal they are told is to make money and leaving a lasting legacy shouldn’t be their concern. So our young girls do all they can to expose their bodies inorder to get attention, not investing in their gifts and talents to contribute in building Africa and the black world.

I think parents should expose their daughters to positive empowering images, literature etc. Jill Scott is one of the best twenty frist century poets I find her work profound and inspiring. Scott “Womanifesto” should be the anthem of every daughter of Africa on the continent and in the diaspora, it gives us a wonderful summary of what black women are and what they can be.Below are images, video and lyrics of her work. Be inspired!

Jill Scott Performs Womanifesto at 2011 Black Girls Rock event, watch it here or read the lyrics below.

Jill-Scott–Womanifesto-Black-Girls-Rock

You are a genius, you can be whatever you wish to be in this world!

You are the Queen Mother of the universe, you gave life to humanity, we greet you Goddess.

tumblr_ma5qp4zc3u1qf8mfdo1_1280
You are honest because you allowed your ancestors to speak through you

You are strong, athletic

You are beautiful, naturally even when your bones have aged!

You are a scholar, teacher

You are a joy to be with

525492_10151078711411533_1935583582_n

You an activist, lawyer, former U.S Congress woman, Green Party Presidential Candidate and truth talker like Cynthia McKinney!


You are a midwife/ doula

You are an appreciator of your culture and the roles your ancestors played in shaping it for you

© Gabon / Libreville / Avril 2000



230202_476203642431066_613310938_n

© Festivals Des Divinites Noir

You speak for justice when others stand by and watch oppression

You are Sankofa,because you go back to your roots to inspire and be inspired!

©BBC News Africa

You are a leader, lead like Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

You are strong but sometimes it is alright to ask for helping hands so that you can grow

You are sophisticated, simply blacknificent


305919_405724679500678_1710139430_n

599050_386135724804620_339788994_n

555521_390113657713928_358589066_n

You are all of this, homage-to-black-women and then some…

Womanifesto lyrics

Clearly I am not a fat ass
I am active brain
And lip smacking peach deep
Sometimes too aggressive in it’s honesty
And heart sweet
That loves wholly and completely
Whom it may choose
Whom ever it may choose

I am not gonna lie and pacify
I am arms to hold
I am lips to speak
I am a motherfucking “G”

Strong legs that stroll off the 33 bus
Or out of a money green Phantom comfortably
Knees that bend to pray
Clean from Ajax washings
Hair that is thick and soft
Thighs that betwixt
An amazing all expense grand prize

I am eyes that sing
Smile that brightens
Touch that rings
And supplies euphoric release
I am a Grand Dame Queen Beast

I am warm
I am peace
From the roads of Botswana from 23rd Street
From the inside third eye
Ever watching this wicked wicked system of things
I do see

I am friend to pen
And a lover of strong women
A diamond to men
I am curious and interested like children
I welcome the wise to teach
Appreciator of my culture
Thick not just from bone dense and eat

I have a rhythm in my ways
And a practice in my seek
And yes, I do crave the rhythm of my space
With a man that rejoices in God’s Grace

With faith I do hear to listen
Two hands that fist
When forced pushes to shove
And your ego won’t submit

I am gifted
I am all of this
And indeed the shit

Clearly I am not just an ass

© Universal Music Publishing Group

3 thoughts on “Womanifesto by Jill Scott: The Global Anthem of African/ Black Daughters

Leave a Reply

